Help Desk

Google Calendar Missing Event Descriptions

  • Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Hello,

    My imports have been selectively including or not including certain descriptions for certain events. How can I resolve this?

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink
    This reply has been marked as private.
    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    My event update authority is set to: Overwrite my event with any changes from the original source.

    Even if I were to change the description of the events that somehow are missing the info on WordPress — the events aren’t updated.

    Many problems with this Event Aggregator.

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    Thanks so much for reaching out!

    I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing these issues with Event Aggregator.

    Can you enable and check the Event Log under Events < Help to see if you see anything unusual? Right under that is your Event Aggregator Status. Can you take a screenshot of what you see there?

    Also, please enable WP_DEBUG and WP_DEBUG_LOG and share any debug messages you see.

    In the meantime, let’s try to rule out if there is some type of conflict at play.
    This is usually because of:

    1.    A conflict with another plugin

    2.    A conflict with your WordPress theme

    3.    A template customization for the Events Calendar that requires updating

    When it comes to that type of issue, it is preferable to troubleshoot in a staging environment if you have one.

    A first quick test is to simply temporarily revert back to a default WordPress theme such as twenty-sixteen to see if the issue persists.

    The next step would be to go through our testing for conflicts procedure and let us know what you find out.

    Basically the goal here is to revert back to a bare WordPress installation to see if the problem persists. It also allows us to pinpoint what the cause of the issue is.

    But, before you do that, there are 2 things I would advise:

    1.    Make a backup of your database

    2.    Consider activating a “Maintenance Page” plugin if you are doing this on your live site (to minimize impact on your visitors)

    Let me know how that goes!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink
    This reply has been marked as private.
    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    Thanks for providing me with that information.

    I imported your calendar feed to do some testing on my end and found that I was able to import all event descriptions, as per expected behavior.  See screenshot:

    Can you try creating a new event in your calendar and then importing that event?  Let me know if you see a description appear.

    Also, please make sure that all of your Events Calendar related plugins are up to date.

    Let me know how that goes!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Jaime,

    Thanks for your response. I’m completely updated and still unable to import the descriptions for those events I described. Like I mentioned previously, I just need all these events accurate. Is there another way to get this solved without a large analysis? It seems like you don’t the ability to reproduce this issue.

    How do I just delete everything and start over from a events calendar perspective?

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    I completely understand that you want everything to be accurate and to work properly.  I did try to reproduce the error that you were describing, but was unable to do so, which indicates to me that perhaps there is something going on with your configuration that is causing the error to occur.

    In any case, if you’d prefer to delete all of the events from your events calendar on your site, you can do so manually, by deleting your imports and going to your events and Bulk Delete your events.  You can also try using a third-party plugin like Bulk Delete to help you take care of this.

    Let me know how that goes and if you have any other questions on this topic!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Jaime,

    I’ve removed my events entirely over and over and the events still come in half way broken. Some events have the descriptions and some don’t. I’ve literally spent tens of hours trying to debug this myself. I don’t understand what else to do.

    Best,

    Adam

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    I’m sorry that things still aren’t working properly for you.  The URLs from your Google Calendar seem to be working properly, as the event descriptions came in for me when I imported them.   Can you try creating a fresh WordPress install and seeing if the issue still occurs?

    The other option is to manually add in the descriptions for the events that don’t have descriptions when imported.  I know this may be a tedious process, but it will at least temporarily resolve the issue.

    Let me know your thoughts!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Ya manually doing anything simply isn’t an option and why we have chosen this plugin. Do you happen to know what the best version of PHP we should have for this plugin?

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    I’m sorry that things are working out for you the way that they are.  Here are our current system requirements:

    https://theeventscalendar.com/knowledgebase/what-are-the-system-requirements-for-your-plugins/

    With my setup, I currently have a PHP version of 7.1.12 and I was able to import your URLs as expected with descriptions.

    Let me know if this helps and if you have any other questions on this topic!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    I’m sorry that things are working out for you the way that they are.  Here are our current system requirements:

    https://theeventscalendar.com/knowledgebase/what-are-the-system-requirements-for-your-plugins/

    With my setup, I currently have a PHP version of 7.1.12 and I was able to import your URLs as expected with descriptions.

    Let me know if this helps and if you have any other questions on this topic!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Hello,

    I’ve just now upgraded to PHP7.1 and have the same issues not to mention I’ve spent weeks trying to get this to work. I’m really concerned that I had zero issues with his plugin last year and now all of a sudden it doesn’t work anymore. What’s the refund process like?

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink
    This reply has been marked as private.
    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink
    This reply has been marked as private.
    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    Thanks for providing me with that information.

    We have a 30-day full refund policy, although I believe you are outside of that limit at this point.

    Please let me know if you’d like to continue troubleshooting!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Jaime,

    I’ve provided my information for a refund only because you told me to upgrade or tough luck essentially. I find it unacceptable that I’ve dragged this issue out past the refund deadline trying to work with this BS support forum.

    You have to understand from my point of view — this was working until my licenses expired and now it doesn’t work. Nothing has changed on my end AT ALL. Now I’ve spent weeks of my time plus you already have my cash trying to debug this issue. I WANT THIS ISSUE FIXED ULTIMATELY but it seems you do not wish to help or have the means to help.

    I’ve already showed you over and over again that it seems like for a number of my events they do not import correctly. I’m not sure what else to do except be frustrated and convince other people not to use your software.

    UNBELIEVEABLE

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    Thank you for your feedback.  I can completely understand your frustration with our products and you have every right to want things to work as expected.

    I’m happy to continue helping you troubleshoot your issue, but as I mentioned previously, I have been unable to replicate this issue on my end so far, although I have tried.

    If you’d like to continue troubleshooting, I ran your calendar through an iCalendar Validator, and I see that the Organizer field is missing, which can sometimes cause issue.  You can try adding that back in and let me know if that resolves the issue.

    Also, since you have only had this issue since renewing your license, can you check that the Event Aggregator is connected to your current license key? See My Account » Licenses to find your current key.

    You may want to also just manually re-enter the license key, even if it is correct, and ‘Save Changes’.

    Let me know how it goes!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 13 Topics: 2
    | Permalink

    Jaime,

    I’m not discounting your attempts to resolve this situation — I just feel like you don’t have the tools you need to properly reproduce the issue. Further I feel as this is a systemic issue and things like “Saving the key again” seems hacky at best. From a functional standpoint, why would the license have ANYTHING to do with why 50/103 of my reoccurring events are missing their event description? I’ve reached out to support for a refund but it’s unfortunate that it has to come to this. It just doesn’t seem like this plugin is ready to be used in a production capacity and it’s taken my time as well as yours and various other employees tracking down issues. Further, the cost of the plugins at almost $200 annually should provide you with ample margin to fund such simple issues.

    You mention an organizer field which I currently don’t use. From a functional perspective why would not using this field cause half of my imports to not have their content? Doesn’t make sense. This is further compounded with the simple fact that if I delete these events and re-import them — some of the one’s that didn’t have their content now do and other ones that did — don’t anymore!

    I’ve used your troubleshooting documentation, this inadequate support forum, and various other techniques to fix something that just seemed to break at the renewal time. I would think that you or your team would value your customers and their renewal fees more than just letting them go due to simple issues like this.

    I would’ve gladly paid hundreds of dollars a year for some kind of support option that doesn’t involve writing novels to a forum who doesn’t care.

    Good luck in your mountain of issues it seems this product has.

    Posts: 4185
    | Permalink

    Hi Adam,

    Again, thank you for your feedback.  We do our best to help our customers in their issues, and sometimes the hardest part is helping people troubleshoot when I cannot reproduce the issue on my end.  This means that I try to create the situation that you are describing, using your settings and import URLs, so that I can determine if it is a bug or if it there is something else at play.  That does not mean that I have not tried to help you, although I can understand how frustrating this process can be.

    Best of luck with your project!

     

    Thanks,

    Jaime

    Posts: 7
    | Permalink

    Hey there! This thread has been pretty quiet for the last three weeks, so we’re going to go ahead and close it to avoid confusion with other topics. If you’re still looking for help with this, please do open a new thread, reference this one and we’d be more than happy to continue the conversation over there.

    Thanks so much!
    The Events Calendar Support Team

    | Permalink

The topic ‘Google Calendar Missing Event Descriptions’ is closed to new replies.