Update to 2.0.9 Completely Wiped Out Custom Fields

Home Forums Calendar Products Events Calendar PRO Update to 2.0.9 Completely Wiped Out Custom Fields

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author

Help! Updated to 2.0.9 and all of our Custom Fields have been completely wiped out…and this website is focused on a three day event that takes place in two weekends, so this is unfortunately a critical issue for us. I am not a PHP expert. Does anyone know if there’s an easy way to bring back the old fields, or do we just need to revert back to the old version from backup files until after our big event?

Barry

Hi Kristel, that’s unfortunate: it turns out there is an issue where most of the settings are wiped upon updating from 2.0.8 to 2.0.9. To the best of my knowledge there is no way to recover these other than from a backup.

We’re certainly aware of this problem and are working to eliminate it from future updates – possibly a hot-fix will even be introduced to try and prevent others who have not yet update from experiencing the same problem, though I can’t offer any guarantees on that one.

I don’t think it would be particularly advantageous to restore the 2.0.8 files unless you also have a database backup, I’m afraid.

Barry

*have not yet updated

Wow…this is beyond unfortunate, as we are in the countdown for this event, and the details that were wiped out were extremely important…let’s add to my misery that this is a pro-bono client, and this issue has now engulfed the last 12 hours of my attention.

That said, we do have daily database backups, and a full site backup from pre-update. Am I to understand from your comments that rolling back the plugin won’t be the simplest fix? Has the information been wiped from the database as well?

Barry

Right. To the best of my knowledge that’s exactly the problem – the relevant fields – which are stored in the database – are reset to “factory defaults” if you will.