Need to Delete Hundreds of Duplicate Events

Home Forums Ticket Products Event Tickets Plus Need to Delete Hundreds of Duplicate Events

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    lishal
    Participant

I’ve been using Events Calendar Pro for a few years, but recently it has been acting weird. I’ve gotten thousands of duplicate events showing up in my calendar, they eat up a lot of space and manually deleting them all is tedious and extremely time consuming. I don’t know how it has created all these duplicates and when I go to look at these duplicated events, they come up with 404 errors. They exist in the Events listing and they’re listing as “recurring”, but there doesn’t seem to be a root event that set these all up and when I try to edit them, they reload the events page instead of taking me to the event’s edit screen.

I’ve deleted transients, but all these duplicates are still in the database. My only recourse at the moment is to delete them using a SQL query but my fear is that this will happen again. There was a plugin that existed for this purpose a while ago called Housekeeper, but it seems to have disappeared. Any help would be appreciated because I really don’t want to manually delete over 4000 duplicate events or run a SQL query only to have this happen once again.

Nico

Hi there @lishal,

Thanks for reaching out to us and sorry to hear about this duplicates issue you are experiencing 🙁

We do not have the Housekeeper plugin around, but I’ll ask the dev team if they have an updated version or something that can work the same way.

Have you noticed this happening after any direct action (updating WordPress or The Events Calendar or other plugin)? Can you check the server error logs to see if there’s something there that might be useful to understand the root of the issue?