Theming listview to match category

Home Forums Welcome! Pre-Sales Questions Theming listview to match category

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Svend Tveden-Nyborg

We want to theme a widget to match the event category with a page category – the aim is to be able to display events that match the current displayed page’s specific category.

We are aware of the widget “related-events.php” in which we for each widget need to setup what category/ies to display. This we want to do more dynamically.

In other words we would like to be able to loop through the events that match a specific code – can this be achieved?

Regards,

Svend Nyborg

Lasse

I believe the issue could be related to using code from the tribe-events-adv-list-widget. However, I am not an expert and have no hard core coding experience.

Regards,

Lasse

Brook
    Participant

Howdy Svend Nyborg,

I would love to help you with this. It sounds to me like you have a set of WP Posts with their own categories, and each of those has an identically named event category with posts in it. On your Post pages you are hoping to a show a widget that will dynamically pull in all event categories with the same name. Is that correct?

If so then this would be very doable with Events Calendar Pro and a little bit of PHP coding. As Lasse said the Advanced List Widget could be used here. It has the ability to show only posts from a given categories. It also has a shortcode version that I think might be even more useful. That’s because you could do something like this with great ease:

<?php do_shortcode('[tribe_events_list category="'.$name_of_page_category.'"]');?>

And that would show any upcoming events that are in a category matching $name_of_page_category . Again though, it will require some PHP experience to get this all working and to make sure $name_of_page_category contains the date you need.

Does that all make sense? Will that work for you? Please let me know.