Our site is ready for upgrading from ECP 2 to 3. When we renew, will the old 2.x license still be operational? The plan is to migrate and test all ECP 2 events to ECP 3 onto a subdomain, while keeping the primary site live with ECP 2.
Thanks for getting in touch. The license key will still work, but it can technically only work on one site. However, since you won’t be updating the 2.x site, you don’t really need access to updates, etc. I recommend that you get the 2.x site where you want it, then unregister the key from that site and add it to your 3.x site. That way you’ll get update prompts, etc. for the 3.x site. If you’re unsure of how to move the key, check out this walkthrough. Let me know if you have any questions 🙂
Leah,
Thanks for your prompt reply. It sounds like the renewal and upgrade to 3.0 retains my old license. And this single license may only be active on one site at a time. So if I want to migrate/test ECP 3.x on a subdomain, I will need to first disable (unlicense) ECP 2.x on our primary site. Assuming that some ECP 2.x features on the unlicensed site will be disabled, what operational differences should site admins/visitors expect to see?
-Andrew
You are correct on all counts. Happily, the plugin works totally normal without an inputed license key. The only difference is that while you may get prompts that a plugin is outdated (if, say, we release a newer version) you will not be prompted to do an automatic update. If we release a new version while you have the two sites, you’ll need to do a manual install of the newer version on whichever site doesn’t have the license.