Related Events Just Showing Next Scheduled Events Rather Than Related Ones

Home Forums Calendar Products Events Calendar PRO Related Events Just Showing Next Scheduled Events Rather Than Related Ones

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    adamfuller
    Participant

My related events section on single event listings is simply showing the next 3 events rather than the next 3 related events. Hence, it shows the same 3 events on every single event listing until one of them passes, at which point the next scheduled event is selected.

I can tell it’s working to some extent because if on event A the related events are B,C, and D, when I visit event B the related events become A, C, and D.

I’m no expert by any stretch (literally no idea wtf I’m doing) but I’ve had a look at tribe_get_related_posts() and it seems to be using categories and tags to attempt to find related events, correct?

I think this maybe the source of the problem in that the significant majority of my events are grouped under the same parent category. I have a parent category “Event Type” which is populated with 5 or 6 child categories. There is another separate parent category “Genre” which is populated with 20+ genres. This means that (I think) every event falls under “Event Type” even though they are all different types (i.e. “Type 1”, “Type 2”).

So my thinking is that the function above sees that all the events are in the same parent category and can’t distinguish anything between them in order to generate sensible related events. Note: On events categorised as “Event Type –> Type 1” or “Event Type –> Type 2”, only “Type 1” and “Type 2” are selected, not the parent category “Event Type”.

I don’t have an explanation as to why the tags part isn’t working, as there all the events are individually tagged well and there is plenty of healthy overlap on the tags. Enough, I should think, to generate sensible related events.

Any thoughts?