Related Events are too far into the future

Home Forums Calendar Products Community Events Related Events are too far into the future

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    cliffy
    Participant

Hi,

I would like to refer to a post by Jennifer

https://theeventscalendar.com/support/forums/topic/related-events-include-strange-unrelated-events-too-far-in-the-future/

I too have this issue and completely agree with her view. I personally feel the argument about bloating the code is a bloated argument in itself. If there is a filter in the code somewhere to show related events, why not change the existing code so it doesn’t show a related event 17 months from now – why not change the existing code and let others manually change it if they want something so far in the future. To me, this seems like common sense. It seems much more common sense to put something in the UI – I’m not a programmer.

(I’m using the Enfold Theme)

George
    Participant

Hey @Cliffy,

You mention explicitly that you are not a programmer; why, then, do you assume all of your code-related arguments are good ones, and that our code-related arguments are illegitimate (“bloated”)?

I’m not being snarky here, I just want to highlight the contradiction in your post and clarify the fact that there are genuine, legitimate concerns about bloating the code and that regardless of what might seem like “common sense”, making the changes you suggest is quite complex.

An Example

Say we offer limiting things by time-frame as a UI option. Here are just a sample of further decisions that result from the original one:
    1. where does this option go in the admin screen?
    2. Is it per-event, or a global option?
    3. Is it in the options panel? If so where?
    4. Should it be a checkbox, a dropdown, a custom user input?
    5. Should we set pre-defined time-frames to normalize the behavior? Or make it free-form?