plugin conflict with jetpack social sharing

Home Forums Calendar Products Community Events plugin conflict with jetpack social sharing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    designagency
    Participant

hi–
    been having a really nice time working with the community events add-on and the calendar in general. over the past few days i ran into a spot of trouble with my google export button, it was returning a “invalid request” error.

after searching the forums, i followed the instructions to switch my theme, turn off all plugins, and one by one turn them back on, testing each time to see if the functionality was restored. well, sure enough, it worked. the culprit is the social sharing feature of jetpack.

curious to know what to do about this? i would really like to have both the social sharing buttons *and* the google export button but i have no idea how to resolve this (im a designer, not a programmer).

any advice is appreciated!
    emily

Brian
    Keymaster

Hello,

I can help you out with this conflict with Jetpack.

Thanks for testing for a conflict and narrowing it down.

This is happening just on the Single Event View, right?

I did a test on my own site and was able to get the error when clicking on the export to google button.

It looks like the sharing feature is adding to the export link’s query string which is causing the problem.

I looked for a way to prevent Jetpack from doing that, but I could not find anything.

That is where I would try to find a solution, then using a filter we maybe able to help you add something to the link to stop Jetpack sharing from adding to it.

I will look around some more to see if I can find anything and let you know.

Thanks

designagency
    Participant

great, thanks for helping me sort through this. im really not sure how i would go about making the two of them play nice.

emily

Brian
    Keymaster

Emily,