CPU Usage Problem

Home Forums Calendar Products Events Calendar PRO CPU Usage Problem

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Angela McFarland
    Participant

Ok, I’m not a techie so this info will make sense to someone; I’m getting hollered at by web host company for my 3.0.3 Events Calendar. This is ticking them off about my site: The Events Calendar 3.46% 2.8396 seconds average, The Events Calendar PRO 1.57% 1.2881 seconds average. So what do I do about it?

John
    Participant

I don’t know if this applies to your case, but I wanted to share what just happened with one of the sites I admin.

I started seeing some CPU issues where the mysqld process hit 100% utilization when accessing the Events screen in the admin. I started noticing this on the 2.x version recently, and decided to finally upgrade to the latest 3.x version, which offered some minor improvement but there were still some issues.

While still running 2.x, the events screen would not come up and the mysqld process would hit 100% CPU until I restarted it from the shell. After doing some basic WP DB maintenance, I decided to upgrade EC Pro to the latest version. This did help some. The CPU still hits 100% for a varying amount of time, but generally around 10-15 seconds instead of seemingly indefinitely before the upgrade.

The only thing I had noticed different lately is that someone entered two recurring events that dated into the future as far as the year 2032. Though silly, it shouldn’t be a problem. Pulling up the All Events list took a very long time. Paginating through took a long time. Narrowing the events list down with a text search seemed to help, if only a little.

I ended up editing the two recurring events that were recurring for 1000 weeks and made them recur for only 52 weeks. This solved the huge mysqld spike problem and returned everything to normal.